Passivhaus Affiliate

UK Passivhaus Awards 2018

UK Passivhaus Awards 2018 logoCategories



UK Passivhaus Awards Hall of Fame


The 2018 UK Passivhaus Awards will celebrate the best in UK Passivhaus projects. Schemes will prove that the Standard can apply to any size, any site and any style.

2018 UK Passivhaus Awards


  1. To celebrate that all Passivhaus buildings can be comfortable, healthy and beautifully designed.
  2. To demonstrate that the Passivhaus standard can be applied successfully to any building type, new-build or retrofit projects.
  3. To raise the profile and encourage uptake of the Passivhaus standard from large scale through to custom-build.



We are looking for projects that are exemplary in architectural design and energy performance. To be eligible to enter, projects must meet the following criteria:

Minimum eligibility requirements

  1. Schemes must be completed and certified to Passivhaus/EnerPHit standard. What it means to claim the Passivhaus Standard in the UK.
  2. Schemes must be able to sufficiently outline their summer comfort and ventilation strategy (We are ideally seeking performance data for at least 1 winter and 1 summer cycle, as of June 2018. Certified projects which have data for a 6-month minimum time period may also be considered.)
  3. Schemes that have won a previous UK Passivhaus Award may NOT enter.
  4. Schemes that have been shortlisted for a previous UK Passivhaus Award are invited to enter again.

Awards Criteria

Detailed submission requirements coming soon.








  • Schemes have a treated floor area (TFA) no greater than 500m2

  • Schemes have a TFA greater than 500m2
  • And/ or have more than 10 units.
  • Schemes have a TFA greater than 500m2

NB: Categories subject to changes


Benefits of Entering

  •  The UK Passivhaus Awards are the only dedicated awards for Passivhaus in the UK.
  • All shortlisted projects in the awards will be promoted as exceptional examples of their sector through all the Passivhaus Trust marketing channels and the media. 

  • The shortlisted projects will be featured prominently on the Passivhaus Trust website, which attracts 20,000-page impressions per month.

  • All shortlisted projects will be featured in a special edition of the Passivhaus Trust newsletter which reaches over 2,500 developers, housing associations, architects, engineering consultants and other organizations in 15 countries.

  • All finalists will be invited to present their project at the awards ceremony, due to take place in October 2018, at London Build.

  • UK Passivhaus Award winners will feature in a pop-up exhibition at the 2018 Conference and at other major Passivhaus events.



Phase I Submissions

The awards are free to enter.

Phase II Submissions

Shortlisted entries proceeding to Phase II of the competition will be asked to contribute the following:

  • £100 towards the design and delivery of their project pop-up banner.
  • All finalists are required to present their schemes at the London Build Expo in October (Attendance is free, but booking is essential.) 



All award entries will be judged and shortlisted by an invited panel (Judges’ TBC.)  

Award winners will be decided by a majority vote via a combination of:

  • Online PHT member votes
  • Votes from the PHT members and attendees of the awards ceremony.




Call for submissions opens  

Late June

Phase I submission deadline




Shortlist Revealed


Phase II submission deadline

Early October

Online member voting opens

20 October

Online member voting closes 5 pm

24 October

Awards ceremony & voting by PHT members 

Late October

Winners Announced

*Exact dates TBC


Join the conversation @passivhaustrust

UK Passivhaus Awards Hall of Fame

Watch videos of previous award winners: 


  Tigh na Croit by HLM Architects: Rural Winner - UK Passivhaus Awards 2016 Lansdowne Drive, Tectonics Architects: Urban Winner - UK Passivhaus Awards 2016  


  Steel Farm, small projects winner 2015 Cre8 Barn, retrofit winner 2015 Wilkinson Primary School, large projects winner 2015


Burnham Overy Staithe, Architectural Design winner
New Farmhouse, Bespoke Project winner 2014
Coventry Eco House, cost & buildability winner 2014


  Totnes Passivhaus, Private Housing winner 2013 Lancaster Cohousing, Social Housing winner 2013 Canolfan Hyddgen, Non-Domestic winner 2013


Wimbish Passivhaus, residential winner 2012
Mayville Community Centre, retrofit winner 2012
Oakmeadow Primary School, Non-Domestic winner 2012