Passivhaus Affiliate

UK Passivhaus Awards 2020

Due to the escalating severity of Covid-19, the Trust has taken the hard decision to postpone the UK Passivhaus Awards until 2021. Whilst this does give you more time to collect monitoring data (every cloud!) we apologise for any disappointment and inconvenience caused.

UK Passivhaus Awards 2020



UK Passivhaus Awards 2020 logo

How to enter

Submission Requirements


UK Passivhaus Awards Hall of Fame


The UK Passivhaus Awards, the only award dedicated to celebrating UK Passivhaus projects, will return in 2021 so get your certified projects (and monitoring data) ready! We shall be searching for exemplary finalists that showcase the flexibility of the standard and demonstrate how crucial Passivhaus is to the zero carbon buildings agenda and mitigating the climate crisis.

The July awards ceremony coincides with the Trust’s 10th Anniversary this summer. We shall be celebrating the growth of the UK Passivhaus movement along with the latest superlative schemes. 





(Multi-unit developments)



How to Enter

  1. Check you meet eligibility requirements
  2. Decide which category you are entering
  3. Complete the A4 Phase 1 submission slides
  4. Register online 
  5. SUBMIT  - Postponed until 2021



2020 UK Passivhaus Awards journeyCriteria

Phase I Submission Requirements

For detailed submission requirements, requested formats, and templates, please download the following Phase I guidelines. All submissions will be judged on the following:

  • Performance & user feedback
  • Architectural design & aesthetics
  • Innovation & lessons learned

Phase II Submission Requirements

Finalists are required to produce artwork for a pop-up banner, a 10-minute project presentation & a 2-minute project video. All will be presented at the UK Passivhaus Awards Ceremony. Templates will be available shortly after finalists are announced in May.



Eligibility requirements

  1. Schemes must be completed and certified to Passivhaus/EnerPHit standard. (A Passivhaus project that has not been officially accredited will also be considered provided they produce appropriate evidence that the standard has been achieved as outlined in What it means to claim the Passivhaus Standard in the UK.)

  2. Proof of performance: Schemes must be able to outline their summer comfort and ventilation strategy (see slide template for more details). We are ideally seeking performance data for at least 1 winter and 1 summer cycle. Certified projects which have data for a 6-month minimum time period may also be considered.

  3. Previous UK Passivhaus Award winners may NOT enter, but schemes that have been shortlisted for a previous UK Passivhaus Award are invited to enter again.

There's no limit to the number of projects applicant's may enter. A project can only be entered in one category.



All submissions undergo a two-stage judging process. The awards jury select the shortlist from the phase I submissions. Finalists announced in 2021.

Finalists that progress to phase II present their projects to an audience at the UK Passivhaus Awards Ceremony. 1 award winner in each category is chosen by a PHT member vote.




Phase I: The awards are FREE to enter for all certified Passivhaus and EnerPHit projects.

Phase II: All finalists will be asked to contribute the following:

  • £100 towards the design and delivery of their project pop-up (once displayed at the UK Passivhaus Conference it is yours to keep.)

  • A 2-minute video will be required as part of phase II submissions. Shortlisted entries have the opportunity to work with Regen Media to produce videos at a cost of £350. View previous presentations here.

  • All finalists are required to deliver a 10-minute project presentation at the awards ceremony held in 2021. Two complimentary speaker tickets will be provided to the event for each finalist.




Call for submissions opens  


Phase I submission deadline




Shortlist revealed


Phase II submission deadline*


Online member voting opens*


Awards ceremony & announcement of winners   

*Exact dates TBC


UK Passivhaus Awards Hall of Fame

Watch videos and find more information on previous award winners: 







Old Holloway Tigh na Croit by HLM Architects: Rural Winner - UK Passivhaus Awards 2016 Steel Farm, small projects winner 2015 Burnham Overy Staithe, Architectural Design winner Totnes Passivhaus, Private Housing winner 2013 Wimbish Passivhaus, residential winner 2012
Enterprise Centre 2019 UK Passivhaus Award winner Lansdowne Drive, Tectonics Architects: Urban Winner - UK Passivhaus Awards 2016 Cre8 Barn, retrofit winner 2015 New Farmhouse, Bespoke Project winner UK Passivhaus Awards2014 Lancaster Cohousing, Social Housing winner 2013 Mayville Community Centre, retrofit winner 2012
Carrowbreck Meadow, 2018 UK Passivhaus Awards   Wilkinson Primary School, large projects winner 2015 Coventry Eco House, cost & buildability winner 2014 Canolfan Hyddgen, Non-Domestic winner 2013 Oakmeadow Primary School, Non-Domestic winner 2012
2018 UK Passivhaus Awards - People's Choice, George Davies Centre